Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk have been nominated for the 2018/19 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award.

winner will be named – along with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year
and UEFA Champions League positional award winners – during the group
stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 29 August. The UEFA Europa League
Player of the Season will be announced the following day.


The three-man shortlist
Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)

The top goalscorer in the UEFA Champions League and the European Golden Shoe winner picked up his tenth Liga title.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)

The UEFA Nations League winner and top goalscorer at the finals also scooped his first Serie A title.

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands)

The final man of the match for the UEFA Champions League winners also reached the UEFA Nations League showpiece.

The rest of the top ten
4 Alisson Becker (Liverpool & Brazil) – 57 points

5 Sadio Mané (Liverpool & Senegal) – 51 points

6 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt) – 49 points

7 Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid & Belgium) – 38 points

8= Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus & Netherlands) – 27 points

8= Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona & Netherlands) – 27 points

10 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City & England) – 12 points

What is the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award?
this award, players in Europe, irrespective of nationality, have been
judged in regard to their performances over the whole season in all
competitions – both domestically and internationally – at either club,
or national team level.

How were the players shortlisted?
shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the 80
coaches of the clubs that participated in the group stages of the
2018/19 UEFA Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League (48), along
with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group,
one from each of UEFA’s member associations.

Jury members chose
their top three players, with the first receiving five points, the
second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for
players from their own team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here